Iglesia y Convento de San Francisco (Museo Nacional de Lucha Contra Bandidos)


A distinctive landmark in Trinidad with its pretty yellow and green bell tower, the Iglesia y Convento de San Francisco claims an eventful history. Built in 1813 by the Franciscans, this former convent was taken over and turned into a parish church in the mid 1800s, and later became a jail before much of the structure was torn down in the 1920s. Only some of the outer buildings and the bell tower still stand.

Today, this picturesque building accommodates the Museo Nacional de Lucha Contra Bandidos (National Museum of the Struggle against Bandits). Fans of Cuba’s revolutionary history should devote some time to exploring the intriguing exhibits here. On display are photographs, documents, and equipment associated with the counter revolutionary forces or ‘bandits’ of 1959, and the problems and battles that ensued. After browsing the museum, sightseers can lighten the mood atop the bell tower, which affords beautiful views over the city.

Echerri 59